My son, D, is two and a half right now, so he is able to have a say in what he wants to be for Halloween this year. At first he was pretty meh about the whole thing. I kept asking and asking early in the year, because I wanted to try and make the costume. My mom was able to make a good amount of costumes for my brother and me growing up. I wanted to be able to do the same for D. For my birthday in April I got my first sewing machine and went to work on practicing putting things together. By the end of July/ beginning of August I was finally able to get D to  decide on what he wanted his costume to be.

My son loves (!) Captain Hook and Tic Toc Croc. He pretends to be Captain Hook; as well as Peter Pan. So, I wasn’t really surprised when he chose to be Captain Hook one day and Tic Toc Croc the next. And thanks to the wonderful world of Pinterest I was able to find D the perfect costume. A woman by the name of Rachael made a “Captain Hook being eaten by Tic Toc Croc” costume for her son (You can see her creation here and here). After a quick Google search I was able to find her instructions to the costume.

Unfortunately, when I set out to make my version I apparently didn’t try hard enough to find the instructions. I tried to figure it out on my own and just went for it. If you want instructions, I highly recommend looking at her original step by step (which you can find again here). I will share my photos of everything, but I wouldn’t be able to begin to share how I did most of what I did. Again, I’m still a beginner. I sewed all of Tic Toc’s body. I hot glued his eyes on. And I sewed the pants that become Tic Toc’s front legs.

072
I took a pair of my son’s pants to create a pattern for Tic Toc’s front legs
074
My crocodile pattern
075
Everything outlined on the fabric
077
How the pants turned out
090
Tic Toc’s head
093
The top of Tic Toc’s body
095
The Tic Toc Croc body with out his back legs

When it came to the top half of the costume, I took short cuts. I knew my skills wouldn’t turn out a jacket I would be happy with. I took a plain white shirt that was on clearance at Target and some lace I bought at Beverly’s to create the pirate shirt that goes under Hook’s jacket. Then, I took a red women’s jacket I found at a local thrift store and cut it up so it fit my son. I basically cut the seam that went up the back and resewed it so it was taken in to fit a two and a half year old. Then I cut the sleeves to fit his little arms. I took the extra lace and created the wrist lace that goes with the jacket. Finally I took gold ribbon and hot glued it to create the gold stripping on Captain Hook’s jacket. I’m pretty happy with how everything came together. We accessorized with a pirate hook from the dollar store, a pirate sword we already owned, and a genuine Captain Hook hat from the Disney Store. I splurged on the hat because D’s room is Peter Pan themed, so it can double as decoration. Though D has been playing with it non-stop since we bought it. I count that as a win and worth the money.

114
Captain Hook jacket and shirt
116 copy
Everything together

You might notice I haven’t created the front feet shoe covers yet. And yes, I totally edited the last picture so you wouldn’t see the mess that is left behind in the wake of D playing. With only one last part of this project to go I am super excited to be done in time for Halloween. I hope it goes over well and is the beginning of many more costumes for D in the years to come.

 

